Water shock modeling with DualSPHysics

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to model the entry of a wedge into the water at constant speed with DualSPHysics and to determine the maximum effort of this shock. However, the effort I find with DualSPHysics is always much lower than the expected results (I use Wagner's analytical model).

My questions are therefore the following:

1) Is DualSPHysics well suited for water shock simulation?

2) What are the most important parameters to set for this type of problem?

I sincerely thank you for your help.

Good luck to all of you.

Comments

• The most important aspect is probably how you model viscosity. What model have you chosen and why?

Kind regards

• I'm using "Laminar+SPS" with value 1e-06. It's seem more physical for me. But i'm not an SPH expert. What do you think ?

• Also, I noticed that the smaller the inter-particle distance "dp" is, the more the effort decreases. Can someone explain me why?

• I also find the SPS-LES formulation to be more physical than the artificial viscosity one. That is the primary reason I try to use it whenever it is stable enough for my simulations.

In regards to your inner-particle distance comment, remember you might not be looking at converged results yet. If you are seeking convergence of the effort, then do a few different simulations to see at which resolution does your simulation converge.

Have you tried googling for existing papers looking at shock modelling in SPH?

Kind regards

• Thanks for your quick answers!

Yes I did a convergence study but the effort decreases too much. The final value is not physical.

I also searched the internet for articles but could not find anything convincing on the study of shock force.