Fluid particles penetrate boundary

Hi, everyone!

I am new to dualsphysics and I am testing the dambreak case with Freecad following https://design.sphysics.org/wiki/doku.php?id=dam-break-example.

I just found a strange behavior that in the initial condition, the fluid particles penetrate the boundary, please see the attached figure, blue is boundary and red are the fluid particles.

To give more details, I changed the case to 2D and the boundary wall have thickness 10 mm while the dp is set 5 mm.

does anyone have any ideas to avoid it?

Regards,

Duan

Comments

• It probably has to do something with the order of initialization. If you create the wall first and then the fluid, the fluid particles can replace the wall particles if the two initialization domains slightly overlap at the edges.
    To give more details, I changed the case to 2D and the boundary wall have thickness 10 mm while the dp is set 5 mm.
    Also I do not understand this concern. You set the wall to have a thickness of 10 mm, and set the particle spacing to 5mm, which means 2 particles will be "bound" and act as the wall.
  • @bladomas1

Thank you for reply.

What I did not understand is exactly why the fluid particles can replace the wall particles, because when I did the initialization, there is supposed to be no overlap, while in fact there is a overlap.

I found that I could make a small distance (equals to dp) between the fluid and water to avoid the overlap. But I am not sure it is the best solution or not.
    You set the wall to have a thickness of 10 mm, and set the particle spacing to 5mm, which means 2 particles will be "bound" and act as the wall.
    This is another doubt. By setting the wall thickness = 10 mm, and set the particle spacing to 5mm, "2" particles are supposed to be "bound" and act as the wall. However as shown in the picture, there is "3" particles bound as the wall. Why?