GPU Recommendations

edited September 2017 in DualSPHysics_v4.0
Hi everybody

I am investigating an upcoming upgrade of the computing capabilities for running DualSPHysics and looking for advise and information for what to buy.

I narrowed the search down to 3 categories:
1) Single graphic card - Buying a "gaming" computer with a GTX 1080 TI or similar
2) SLI setup - e.q. a NVIDIA DIGITS DEVBOX w. 4 graphics cards
3) Professional grad - Tesla cards

Does it make sense to offer money for Tesla card(s)? When will it make sense to invest in them? What are their performance compared to the consumer cards? I know DualSPHysics does not yet support multiple graphics cards, but as I have understood a DEVBOX could still run 4 individual simulations simultaneous?

Going further, neither less the choice of category, what graphics is the best/bang for the buck?

Hope you can help me out - in advance thank!

Comments

• I'm not an expert, but this has been my experience. Take it with a grain of salt and wait for the experts to weigh in.

Having run on a GTX-980 and Tesla K80, I've had my single-precision simulations run faster on the GTX-980, but I haven't tested double-precision simulations on both cards. That said, the Tesla K80 can handle much larger particle counts because it has 3x the GPU RAM. Once we get the Multi-GPU code, I look forward to being able to run large simulations on twin K80s with a combined 24 GB GPU RAM (many particles!), but we're not there yet.

In my view, it comes down to priorities. I am most productive with DualSPHysics when I am running many simulations in a row, quickly, at modest resolution, so I prefer to use the GTX-980. When I need to run a massive simulation in double precision and I know I've got my model set up exactly the way it should be, I don't mind that the Tesla takes a while to get the job done. But gaming cards are (relatively) cheap, and Teslas are expensive.